Pultizer winners Atkinson, Gaul and Goldberger among authors for 2019 Morristown Book Fest

1

 

From the Morristown Festival of Books:

Pulitzer Prize winners Rick Atkinson, Gilbert M. Gaul and Paul Goldberger are among the authors announced Monday for the 2019 Morristown Festival of Books.

‘Ballpark: Baseball in the American City’ by Paul Goldberger

The all-day, free main festival on Saturday, Oct. 12, will feature more than 50 award-winning fiction, nonfiction, poetry, children’s, and young adult authors.

This year’s roster includes National Book Award winner Dr. Ibram X. Kendi, National Book Award finalist and winner of the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction Téa Obreht, and Newbery Medal winner and New York Times best-selling author Kwame Alexander.

Also featured are best-selling children’s book authors Meg Cabot, Jessie Sima and Ame Dyckman, and New York Times best-selling authors Katherine Arden, Marie Benedict, Sarah Blake, Ben Coes, David Epstein, Andrew Gross, Pam Jenoff, Jean Kwok and Madeline Miller.

A family-friendly Star Wars Reads panel will present Jason Fry, Chuck Wendig and the 501st Legion.

American and British history buffs will hear Pulitzer Prize winner Rick Atkinson’s riveting account of the first 21 months of America’s violent war for independence in his most recent best seller, The British Are Coming.

Ibram Kendi, author of ‘How to Be an Antiracist.’

National Book Award winner Dr. Ibram X. Kendi joins the roster with his timely and critical examination of racism and inequality in America in his illuminating and informed How to Be an Antiracist.

For fiction aficionados, a vast array of critically acclaimed novelists will be featured at the festival including Téa Obreht, (Inland and The Tiger’s Wife), Sarah Blake (The Guest Book), romance novelist Meg Cabot (No Judgments), thriller author Ben Coes (The Russian), Madeline Miller (Circe), and Jean Kwok (Searching for Sylvie Lee).

The event, hailed as New Jersey’s premier book festival, is designed to offer something for everyone. Young readers will delight in the ever-popular KidFest with Featured Author Kwame Alexander, whose lyrical and tender, Newbery Medal-winning middle-grade novel, The Crossover, will move and excite both children and parents alike.

Other stellar children’s authors who will be speaking and signing books include Meg Cabot (Royal Crown: From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess), Katherine Arden (Dead Voices), James Riley (The Revenge of Magic: The Last Dragon), New Yorker cartoonist Paul Noth (How To Win the Science Fair When You’re Dead), and New York Times best-selling Star Wars authors Jason Fry and Chuck Wendig, along with members of the 501st Legion and other special guests!

Novelist Pam Jenoff, author of ‘The Lost Girls of Paris.’ Photo: Mindy-Schwartz-Sorasky.

The Young Adult authors featured at this year’s festival are equally impressive. Fans of Claire Legrand’s Furyborn and Heidi Heilig’s For a Muse of Fire will be thrilled to hear from the authors themselves about Kingsbane and A Kingdom for a Stage – Books Two in their respective trilogies.

YA Fantasy lovers will be excited about Spin the Dawn, Elizabeth Lim’s debut novel immersed in romance and Chinese-inspired fantasy, while Contemporary YA fans will relish the opportunity to hear and to meet Jen Malone, author of The Arrival of Someday – an honest and heartfelt story of a tough high school senior battling liver disease.

And finally, both teens and adults will want to take advantage of the wonderful and unique opportunity to hear Val Emmich talk about his instant New York Times best seller, Dear Evan Hansen.

Here is the full roster.

These authors, along with many more in the Festival’s incredible lineup, will speak over the course of the day at five locations, all within walking distance of each other along South Street in historic Morristown, including St. Peter’s Church Sanctuary and Parish House, the Church of the Redeemer, the Morristown/Morris Township Library and the Presbyterian Church Parish House.

Former federal prosecutor Preet Bharara, author of Doing Justice, will deliver the keynote on Friday, Oct. 11, at Morristown’s Mayo Performing Arts Center.

Tickets are $55; students, $25. Full admission includes a signed hardcover edition of the book.

Book sales and signings will occur at a tent on the grounds of the historic Vail Mansion. The two-day Festival is presented by Morgan Stanley Private Wealth Management with Bharara’s Keynote appearance generously co-sponsored by Investors Bank and Delta Dental, along with special event sponsor RegentAtlantic. KidFest is generously sponsored by Atlantic Health System’s Goryeb Children’s Hospital.

Morristown Festival of Books is a fund of the Community Foundation of New Jersey, a non- profit corporation, and we proudly support literacy and education in our community, this year through a partnership with the Morris Educational Foundation.

MORE ABOUT THE 2019 MORRISTOWN FESTIVAL OF BOOKS

[interactive_copyright_notice float='left']
[icopyright_horizontal_toolbar float='right']

1 COMMENT

  1. Looking at the Festival page, it was kind of sad to realize our town, while having plenty of banks, restaurants, and of course bars, lacks a bookstore. Not even a chain store… The two sponsoring bookstores are in Bernardsville and Ridgewood.

    Also, is anyone able to find a schedule of who’s where on each day on the festival site?

LEAVE A REPLY