Mancuso ousts Goldberg from Morris Township committee; Druetzler wins seventh term as Morris Plains mayor

frank druetzler
Frank Druetzler, pictured here at 2010 Memorial Day parade. Photo by Kevin Coughlin

Peter Mancuso, a two-time mayor of Morris Township who last served in 1987, defeated Committeeman Ron Goldberg on Tuesday for a three-year term.

Unofficially, the tally was 4088 to 3708. Ron Goldberg was the lone Democrat on the committee; Democrat Jeff Grayzel was defeated last year, also after one term.

The Republican Mancuso, 72, serves on many boards, including Morristown’s Community Theatre and Morristown Memorial Hospital. A retired governor of the New York Stock Exchange, he campaigned that he will have lots of time to devote to the township’s budget challenges.

frank druetzler
Frank Druetzler, pictured here at 2010 Memorial Day parade, was re-elected to a seventh four-year term as mayor of Morris Plains. Photo by Kevin Coughlin

In Morris Plains, meanwhile, voters overwhelmingly gave Mayor Frank Druetzler a seventh four-year term. Druetzler, 69, a Republican, received about 73 percent of the vote to cruise past Democrat Michael Butchko.

Incumbent Republican Raymond Zabihach won an unexpired two-year term, edging Democrat Frank Mangravite by less than 150 votes, unofficially.

Incumbents Suzanne McCluskey, a Republican, and Jason Karr, a Democrat, were re-elected to three-year council terms. Joe Stith, a Democrat, finished a distant third in the borough election.

Across Morris County, just over 40 percent of registered voters turned out at the polls, according to the Morris County Clerk’s Office.

rep rodney frelinghuysen
Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-11th Dist.), pictured in September, won a ninth term on Tuesday.

In the 11th Congressional District, which includes Morristown, Morris Township and Morris Plains, Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, a Republican from Harding, won a ninth term with about 67 percent of the vote against Democratic challenger Douglas Herbert of Chatham. 

Morris County Sheriff Ed Rochford, a Republican from Morris Plains, also got about 67 percent of the vote to win another three-year term. He has served as sheriff since 1993. The 66-year-old Rochford defeated retired sheriff’s officer Mark Dombrowski, 50, of Mount Olive.

In the Morris freeholder race, Republicans Douglas Cabana (an incumbent), Ann Grossi and Tom Mastrangelo bested Democratic challengers Steven J. Reichenstein,  Avery Ann Hart and Elliot Isibor by margins of about 2-1, to win three-year terms.

Morris County election roundup by The Star-Ledger

[interactive_copyright_notice float='left']
[icopyright_horizontal_toolbar float='right']